top of page
Search
  • Sharni Clavarino

You should definitely visit Krabi!


It was a last minute decision we made to stay a couple of nights in Krabi. A decision that I was grateful of as well. We had booked a ticket from Phi Phi island to Koh Tao-a trip in its self as we were scheduled to take a boat from Phi Phi to Krabi, hop on a bus and then on another boat to arrive on Koh Tao.

However my my sister was nervous after reading about the deaths that have occurred on the island, I was planning to get my PADI certificate which meant she would spend three days by herself and scared.. So we had been sitting on the boat at Phi Phi for about 5 minutes hot and tired when I suggested we just get off at Krabi and not worry about Koh Tao. So we wasted our money on tickets we didn’t use but it turned out to be a good decision.

As as soon as we decided to stay at Krabi I jumped onto Booking.com to find us a room. I booked us into Snooze Hotel in a Female dorm room for two nights.

We we arrived about 11:30am and were thankful we could check in early. We got taken to our dorm room to find we were the only ones booked in! The beds were all private capsules so everyone had there own privacy, we loved it.

Obviously our next mission was food so we ventured across the street the Cafe 8.98 which has amazing food! I’m sure the staff were sick of seeing us as we were regular customers for a few days. If you’re looking for a good western breakfast I’d recommend coming here.

That afternoon I was searching on Klook to see if there was something for us to do around the area. I came across a tour which included kayaking, swimming and then riding ATV’s for $62Aud/1550 Baht and booked us in for the next morning.

We were sitting down at the reception waiting for almost an hour wondering where they were. So we got sick of waiting and our reception lady called the tour guy and they had forgotten us of course. So he came and picked us up in his two seater ute. Eb sat in the front while I was squished behind the seats until we arrived at the kayaks.


We jumped in the kayak with the dry bag and started rowing behind our personal guide (the perks of being forgotten!). We glided through a slightly creepy lake where random stumps were hiding just under the surface of the water meaning occasionally we would bump into one. As we came through a narrow jungle looking area we arrived where the rest of our group was swimming in beautifully clear water.


We quickly stripped off into our bikinis and plunged into the amazingly cool water which was so clear! We caught up with the others in the group; An Australian father and daughter and four English girls. We were relieved to have such a nice and welcoming group of people and we all got along so well.



We kayaked back and shared some fruit platters where we said farewell to the Australian dad and daughter and the rest of us jumped on the bus to go ATV riding. We put our helmets on that didn’t fit very well and they showed us how to drive the motorbikes. We jumped on and off we went, all of us a bit slow and weary to start off.


It only took a few minutes for us to get use to it and then we were revving around the track (well I was anyway). The two girls behind me were slow so our guide at the front kept stopping for them to catch up which was a bit annoying because the rest of us wanted to keep going.


It was so much fun going around through mud and water even if I stuffed two bikes, whoops! It definitely exceeded my expections and would highly recommend having ago, I’m hanging out for another go myself!


Covered in mud we rinsed what we could off ourselves and go on the bus to head back to the hostel after a very much needed and fun day.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page