top of page
Search
  • Sharni Clavarino

My plans for 2019

I came back home from my South East Asia trip at the end of November and it didn’t take me long to know that I just wanted to work, save and travel again. I pretty much came home with a job in hand and ready to start saving!


I’m currently working as a barista/manager of a new cafe that opened just before Christmas last year in a town 10 minutes from where I live. It has turned out to be a great job that I really like and the pay is very good!



In January I was thinking of doing what I did the previous year: work for 6-8 months so I could travel for 6 months. However my mum suggested to me “why don’t you work for year and then you could travel for a year” I quickly shut that idea down saying “a year is a long time to be stuck here I wouldn’t make it that long working.“ But over the next few days I couldn’t stop thinking about how nice it would be to travel for one whole year; 365 days. Imagine the amount of fun I could have, delicious food I could eat and the tan I could get ;)


So I decided that’s what I would do but of course I wouldn’t work the whole year with no travel. I was talking to my boss one day and she mentioned that we might close for one month in winter AKA an opportunity to travel for a month! We are closing for the whole month of July ( only 9 weeks away) and I am heading off to Japan and India. I am also taking two weeks off at the start of October for a family and friends trip to Cambodia and Vietnam.


The best part about these two trips is that it breaks up the year for me. It‘s only nine weeks till I fly to japan where I get a month of travel and when I come home I will only have 2 months before I fly to Cambodia. Then I will have about 3.5 months till a take off for a year.


The only issues I face at the moment is that I haven’t spoken to my boss about quitting at the start of next year and I will need to give her plenty of warning as I am running the cafe for her and due to living in the country it’s not so easy to find someone to replace me.


So far things have been going good while being home and I have been keeping busy which always helps. I’m hoping this year will flash by quickly (it has so far) so that I can be on the road soon. My savings so far are going well and I have created a rough plan of where I would like to visit in my year off. I’ve also got back into my blog whigh I shamelessly have attempted and failed a few times but I think it will be good for me to have something else to focus on and talk about my progress and plans.


I would love to hear any of your plans that you have in place so that you can travel!















12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page