top of page
Search
  • Sharni Clavarino

Vietnam with a broken arm


On September 30th my family and I headed to the airport to take off to Vietnam. This was a pretty big deal (not for me) because there was eight of us and half of my family hadn't actually been overseas. I went with Mum, Dad, my three sisters, one of their boyfriends and my younger cousin. I was the most traveled of them all and the ones that had been overseas had only been once. It was honestly a miracle to even get my Dad to come on the holiday! The main difference from my last overseas trip was that I was going with a broken arm..


My dad didn't fit too well in the Air Asia seats!

About three weeks before our trip I was drunkenly dancing on a chair (nothing unusual for me), fell off and broke my arm.. and it hurt, A LOT. Long story short everyone told me there was nothing wrong with it and I was just drunk. So i battled on through the night with my arm hanging by my side and didn't even sleep so come Sunday morning we were still drinking. I eventually went home thinking I could sleep off the pain-didn't work so well. I ended up going to the hospital and got x-rays and discovered it was broken off the joint and had to have surgery, whoops! So I had the surgery a couple days later and had a cast and sling.


Three days before our flight I had a check-up appointment with the surgeon and he was going to put the cast back on until I told him we were heading off the Vietnam in three days. He was very kind and said they could just wrap it up instead so I didn't have to lug a heavy hot cast and thank god for that! So they just wrapped it up in bandages and put my sling back on.


It was so lucky that it wasn't a solo trip I was going on because that would have been a nightmare! Lucky for me my dad was willing to be my pack horse. I had my carry on wheeling bag but I couldn't carry my backpack so my Dad got the luxury of doing that, my shoulders were grateful! It was a bit uncomfortable on the plane so I put my mums head pillow underneath it which was better.


While we were over there it wasn't much of a hassle. However the WORST part about it was that every time we went to a water park or theme park I couldn't go on the rides or slides. Keep in mind that I love those sort of things so the best i got to do at the water parks was float around in the lazy pools while the others went on the awesome fun water slides, it was cruel! I can't wait to go back so I can actually have a go at everything.


When we went to Vinpearl Island I when on one ride there which just went up and down which was fun but there were so many more things I would have loved to go on! The last few days my arm was feeling better and had more movement so I usually didn't have the bandages or sling on during the day but still had to be careful which was hard in the markets when they would try grab me by the arm to get my attention!! I had a different flight home because I had to get back for my job I had not long started. So it was a bit trickier going through airport customs by myself and I was trying to be quick but it was difficult. I obviously managed but it was on the plane which was harder. I had a stop over in Singapore airport for four hours so I had two flights. The first flight was only an hour or two and when I got on the flight attendant put my carry on bag in the over head departments which was so nice. Then when we landed I had to try and get it down and the people next to me didn't even try help, they weren't very nice. A nice lady that was behind me got it down and even offered to wheel it off the plane for me. I really appreciated her kindness it made such a difference so if you ever see someone struggling, please offer to help! On my second flight back to Melbourne a man who was already sitting down with headphones and buckled in saw me struggling to put my bag up got up from his seat and helped me because once again the person sitting in my row didn't bother to help me. Overall it was an awesome fun trip that we had and all though I was limited by some things it still didn't affect me that much and I was just grateful for my helpful family. I also plan to go back to Vinpearl land and enjoy all the rides and slides.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page