top of page
Search
  • Sharni Clavarino

Who am I?


I'm starting off my first blog post to let you guys know who I am and what exactly I'm doing here! I'm Sharni and I loveeee travelling, hence the blog. I went on my first overseas trip when I finished high school. I spent two months volunteering at an orphanage teaching English in Cambodia. I had an incredible time there and was amazed how different everything was; the people, food, culture, beer and how different I felt.


Me teaching beautiful Chana
 

Everything was different in a good way. I met so many beautiful people that I will never forget and in my last week there I really didn't want to come home and I was going to change my flight so I could stay at least another two weeks but after the cost of flight changes and realising I'd have to leave the country and then come back in to get another visa, I realised I probably couldn't afford it and well I could stay another two weeks but I'd still have to come home.. bummer. So to the relief of my family I came back on my due date. I remember sobbing on the tuk-tuk as I left the orphanage already planning to come back.


So once I got home it took about four days before I was overcome with post travel blues and started looking and applying for all sorts of jobs so that I could start saving and leave again! I got another job and worked two jobs for a couple of months and then one turned into a full time job so I quit the other. It ended up being a well paid job and I was earning lots of commissions because it was a sales role. I was saving a lot of money and was planing when and where I would go, meanwhile everyone told me I would be crazy to quit and go travelling when I was earning so much money (because apparently money is more important than enjoying life.. not!)

At the start I was ignoring most of these comments but I was even getting them from my boss, who kept telling me I should start looking to buy a house because I can always travel later on. He really just didn't want me to leave because I was making him so much money. Anyway after a while I started thinking maybe I should start looking into houses because I had saved up enough for 10% deposit and I thought it'd be pretty cool having a house right? I had started looking into it more and then I had a couple of people saying is that a good idea? It's a big commitment you know? So pretty much what I learnt was you can never please anyone, so don't try!

I ended up in a pickle because I was stuck between the thought of I should buy a house it will get me ahead in life and that is such a good achievement or the thought of I've always wanted to travel, here's my chance if I buy the house I won't be able to travel that much. Long story short I brought a house but still had a month long holiday planned. I think the thought of getting a puppy again won me over. So I found a house that I loved and haggled a price that they accepted and they gave me a three month settlement period.


During that three months I went back to Cambodia but took my Mum and Sister who loved it. They stayed for 10 days and then flew home while I stayed for another week and a half and went back to the orphanage where they remembered me (thank god!). After my time was up there I flew to Bali where I spent four nights in Ubud by myself and then met my Aunty, Uncle and cousins in Seminyak for three nights.


I then flew home and had two weeks before I moved into my house. I spent almost six months living in my house before I got itchy feet so I rented out my house an went to WA and worked there for five weeks then to NSW and worked there for two months. Now I'm back home in Vic and am planning to go travelling in June/July till December 2018 which is why I have this blog.


I want to use this to keep myself motivated. I pretty much have no money even though I'm working full time (bad paying job) so I have just got another job to work after hours to start saving. I thought if I can keep documenting everything and researching my trip then I can stay on track and make this work. I'm also hoping to connect with other people to get more tips and suggestions!

So if you're still reading and bless you if you are then please let me know more about you and your story, I'd love to hear it. I would also would love any tips on saving, planning or anything travel related!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page